01

***BURY ST EDMUNDS FRINGE FESTIVAL 2018***

We are hugely excited to announce the full programme for this year's Bury St Edmunds Fringe Festival!

Following a five year semi-hiatus (with a handful of music-only events), Bury Fringe relaunches as a fully-fledged, six-week-long arts festival in March and April 2018. Run by a committee of independent local promoters on a completely voluntary basis, the Bury Fringe aims to showcase and celebrate the amazing wealth of arts and culture happening in the West Suffolk area on a grassroots, DIY basis.

Featuring theatre, comedy, poetry, film, dance, workshops, networking events and a huge variety of music (rock, indie, opera, metal, acoustic, electronic/noise, country, folk/roots, dub/reggae, funk, soul and everything inbetween), this year's festival caters for all tastes and ages. As part of our commitment to remaining inclusive in uncertain times, ticket prices have been kept as low as possible, or free! We are also pleased to be relaunching the ever-popular Bury Songwriters Competition as part of this year's Bury Fringe (details of how to apply will be announced very soon). 

Events this year will take place at a variety of venues, including The ApexConstitutional Club-social clubHunter Club - Bar & VenueOakes Barn Free HousePetrus Wine Bar Bury St EdmundsThe Rehearsal RoomsSt John's Church Centre, the Unitarian Meeting House and Vinyl Hunter

We are also very pleased to show you the official poster and programme design for this year's Fringe, designed by completely wonderful local artist Emily Wallace. You can see more of Emily's work on her website at www.emilywallaceillustration.com

THE FULL PROGRAMME IS AS FOLLOWS: 

Saturday 24th March - Folk All-Dayer - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Thursday 29th March - Felix James presents: THE FAILURE MEN - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Saturday 31st March - The Bury Fringe Blast-Off - (Music - Vinyl Hunter) 

Saturday 31st March - The Bury Fringe Social - (Music - Oakes Barn)

Wednesday 4th April - Bury Songwriters Competition - Heat 1 - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Thursday 5th April - Bury Fringe Festival Variety Show - (Mixed - The Constitutional Club)

Friday 6th April - Dubrise - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Saturday 7th April - Joel Morris presents: The Balcony Sessions - (Music - The Apex) 

Saturday 7th April - Washing Machine presents: F.O.X - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Saturday 7th April - Con artists presents: MENUMITO - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Sunday 8th April - Night Walker Pictures: Screening 1 - (Film - The Constitutional Club)

Tuesday 10th April - Night Walker Pictures: Screening 2 - (Film - Petrus Wine Bar)

Tuesday 10th April - 'Holiday Hijinks' by Spinning Wheel Theatre - (Kids Theatre Workshop - St John's Centre)

Wednesday 11th April - 'Holiday Hijinks' by Spinning Wheel Theatre - (Kids Theatre Workshop - St John's Centre)

Wednesday 11th April - Bury Songwriters Competition Heat 2 - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Friday 13th April - Sunday Suppers Fundraiser- (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Saturday 14th April - Emporium Of Odd II: Bygone - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Monday 16th April - 'Hilarity Jen' starring Jenny Beake - (Theatre/Music/Comedy - Oakes Barn)

Tuesday 17th April - Night Walker Pictures presents: Networking Night - (Film/Networking - Petrus Wine Bar)

Wednesday 18th April - Bury Songwriters Competition Heat 3 - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Thursday 19th April - 'The Anger of Angels' by John Goldman - (Theatre - The Constitutional Club)

Friday 20th April - A Night At The Opera - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Friday 20th April - Stage Write presents 'PLAY SOMETHING' - (Theatre - The Hunter Club)

Saturday 21st April - Washing Machine presents: A HORSE CALLED WAR - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Saturday 21st April - The Right Combination Soul Club - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Saturday 21st April - Quirkhouse 5 - 5 Plays, 5 Venues, 5 Walks - (Theatre - Oakes Barn, The Hunter Club, The Constitutional Club, Abbeygate Cinema, & Cafe Rouge)

Sunday 22nd April - Quirkhouse 5 - 5 Plays, 5 Venues, 5 Walks - (Theatre - Oakes Barn, The Hunter Club, The Constitutional Club, Abbeygate Cinema, & Cafe Rouge)

Monday 23rd April - Second Hand Scott And Other Nonsence - (Comedy/Music - Oakes Barn)

Monday 23rd April - 'My Mother Said I Never Should' by Charlotte Keatley - (Theatre - The Constitutional Club)

Tuesday 24th April - 'My Mother Said I Never Should' by Charlotte Keatley - (Theatre - The Constitutional Club)

Tuesday 24th April - 'Hilarity Jen' starring Jenny Beake - (Theatre/Music/Comedy - Oakes Barn)

Wednesday 25th April - 'My Mother Said I Never Should' by Charlotte Keatley - (Theatre - The Constitutional Club)

Wednesday 25th April - Bury Songwriter Competition Heat 4 - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Thursday 26th April - Quirkhouse 5 - All 5 Plays (Theatre - The Constitutional Club)

Friday 27th April - Homegrown Festival Takeover: Americana Night - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Saturday 28th April - Hoo Ha Record Club Fringe Edition - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Saturday 28th April - An Evening of Drama & Music for Freedom From Torture - (Theatre/Music - The Unitarian Meeting House)

Monday 30th April - An Evening of Poetry featuring Alexandra Davis - (Poetry/Open Mic - Oakes Barn)

Friday 4th May - Bury Songwriters Competition Final - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Friday 4th May - Dubrise - (Music - The Constitutional Club)

Saturday 5th May - Bury Fringe All-Dayer - (Music - The Hunter Club)

Sunday 6th May - exBURYmental 2 All-Dayer - (Music - The Rehearsal Rooms)


Event info, including timings, line-ups and ticket prices (where applicable) can be found at www.buryfringe.co.uk